Invicta FC 10 Results: Herica Tiburcio Submits Michelle Waterson, Claims Atomweight Championship

On Friday, Dec. 5, Invicta Fighting Championships hosted Invicta FC 10: Waterson vs. Tiburcio from the Arena Theatre in Houston. The eight-fight event streamed live and exclusively on UFC Fight Pass.

The night’s main event saw the atomweight championship change hands as Brazil’s Herica Tiburcio submitted Michelle Waterson in the third round via guillotine choke. Tiburcio was aggressive from the beginning of the fight. She caught a kick from Waterson and took the fight to the ground. Waterson countered with an armbar from her back, but Tiburcio escaped. Tiburcio attacked with a guillotine choke, but Waterson scored a takedown and moved into mount late in the frame. Waterson was able to get the fight to the ground early in round two, but Tiburcio used a leg lock to get the top position. Waterson was able to regain the top position, but Tiburcio attacked Waterson’s arm along the fence. Waterson refused to tap as the round came to a close. In round three, Waterson missed a hook kick and Tiburcio planted her on the ground. She locked up a guillotine choke and rolled to her back, forcing Waterson to submit.

In the co-main event, bantamweight Tonya Evinger earned her second straight armbar victory, submitting Cindy Dandois in the second round. Evinger came out throwing big shots, prompting Dandois to look for a takedown. Evinger ended up on top and quickly moved to the crucifix. She dropped heavy left hands from the top, which caused Dandois to give up her back. Evinger sought the TKO finish, but Dandois survived the stanza. In round two, Dandois immediately shot for a takedown, but again it was Evinger that claimed the dominant position. She took the back of Dandois, transitioned for the armbar and forced the tap.

Veteran Roxanne Modafferi handed Andrea Lee the first loss of her career via split decision. Lee scored early and often with her striking, but Modafferi was able to close the distance and get the fight to the ground. Lee fought hard to get back to her feet, but Modafferi stuck to her like glue. In round two, Lee absorbed a head kick from Modafferi before being taken down once again. However, Lee was able to move to mount briefly before the round closed. The last round saw Modafferi work hard for the finish, taking Lee’s back and raining punches. When it was all said and done, Modafferi got the nod on the scorecards.

Flyweight DeAnna Bennett remained undefeated, earning a hard-fought decision over Brazil’s Jennifer Maia. Bennett landed with her hands early in the fight, slowing Maia’s forward advance. Maia responded by pressing Bennett against the cage. Bennett was able to break free and score with body kicks. Maia marched forward as the fight progressed, but it wasn’t enough, as Bennett earned the win.

Peggy Morgan made a successful return to the featherweight division, outlasting newcomer Andria Wawro. Morgan used her length early, keeping Wawro at range. Wawro returned fire, landing numerous overhand rights. Morgan absorbed the shots and continued to score with punches, taking home the unanimous decision win.

Mexico’s Alexa Grasso remained undefeated and sent a message to the rest of the strawweight division, earning a violent, first-round TKO over Alida Gray. Grasso stunned Gray early with punches. A big shot from Grasso sent Gray to the canvas and Grasso flurried for the finish.

Atomweight Jinh Yu Frey scored a dominant, first-round submission win in the night’s second bout. Frey took the back of opponent Cassie Robb and coerced a tap at the midway point of the opening frame.

The night kicked off with a flyweight contest between promotional newcomers Rachael Ostovich and Evva Johnson. Ostovich scored with power punches and well-timed takedowns to overcome Johnson’s submission attempts and claim the split decision win.


Herica Tiburcio def. Michelle Waterson by submission (guillotine choke). Round 3, 1:04 – for atomweight title
Tonya Evinger def. Cindy Dandois by submission (armbar). Round 2, 1:23
Roxanne Modafferi def. Andrea Lee by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
DeAnna Bennett def. Jennifer Maia by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Peggy Morgan def. Andria Wawro by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Alexa Grasso def. Alida Gray by TKO (punches). Round 1, 1:47
Jinh Yu Frey def. Cassie Robb by submission (rear-naked choke). Round 1, 2:36
Rachael Ostovich def. Evva Johnson by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)